B.Sc.University of Victoria (1994)
Ph.D. University of Alberta (2000)
Post-doc. University of Texas at Austin

English

Christopher B. Cameron

Professeur agrégé, Département de sciences biologiques

Postal Address:

Courier Address
 

phone:
fax
:

e-mail:

Université de Montréal, Département de sciences biologiques, Pavillon Marie-Victorin, C.P. 6128, Succ. Centre-ville, Montréal, QC, Canada, H3C 3J7

Université de Montréal, Département de sciences biologiques, Pavillon Marie-Victorin, 90 Vincent d'Indy Ave., Room F-208-8, Montréal, QC, Canada, H2V 2S9

1 (514) 343-2198
1 (514) 343-2293
. . . . . twitter

| Les gens | Recherche | Opportunités de recherche | Publications |


"All things are one thing - plankton, a shimmering phosphorescence on the sea and the spinning planets and an expanding universe, all bound together by the elastic string of time. It is advisable to look from the tide pool to the stars and then back to the tide pool again."

John Steinbeck on Ed Ricketts philosophy. From "The Log from the Sea of Cortez"


Les recherches actuelles

La recherche dans le laboratoire du professeur Cameron vise à comprendre l'origine et l'évolution de la diversité du plan de corps des animaux. Les environnements aquatiques, et en particulier les océans, abritent la majeure partie de la diversité animale mondiale, et nulle part les plans corporels ne sont plus divergents que chez les invertébrés. Cette biodiversité est largement le résultat de l'intéraction entre l'évolution, le développement, et l'environnement fluide. Pour cette raison, notre programme de recherche utilise une approche multidisciplinaire incluant la biologie organismale, le développement, la mécanique des fluides, la phylogénie, la génomique et la transcriptomique, et la paléontologie. Nous sommes largement intéressés par les origines et l'évolution de la biodiversité des animaux, et les deutérostomes, cette lignée évolutionnaire incluant les hémichordés, les échinodermes et notre propre phylum, les chordés, c’est le domaine où nous apportons notre plus grande contribution, intérêt et passion.

Les origines des structures matricielles extracellulaires (SME) dans les deutérostomes

Actuellement, nous évaluons trois hypothèses sur l'origine des SME dans les deutérostomes (Figure 1). Nous testons notre premiere hypothèse selon laquelle les branchies de chordés sont un trait plésiomorphe (ancestral) du deutérostomes (Cameron et al., 2000), en caractérisant la forme, la fonction et la symétrie des branchies du ver acorn. Nous testons notre deuxième hypothèse que le squelette échinodermique est une plésiomorphie Ambulacrarian (Cameron et Bishop 2012), en caractérisant la composition du carbonate de calcium et les protéines des osselets de vers, le développement, et leur diversité. Nous testons notre troisième hypothèse, en nous fondant sur notre découverte de vers de gland tubicole Cambriens provenant des schistes de Burgess (Caron, Conway Morris et Cameron, 2013; Nanglu et al., 2016), selon laquelle les tubes sont une plésiomorphie hémichordée. Nous caractérisons la composition des tubes ptérobranches, la sécrétion de tubes par une graptolite rhabdopleuride vivante et l'expérimentation de la plasticité phénotypique induite de la structure de la colonie (c'est-à-dire, l'astogénie du tubarium).

Fig. 1. Hypothesis on the origin and evolition of deuterostome gills, ambulacrarian ossicles, and hemichordate tubes (modified from Gee 2013, Nature)

Fig. 1. Hypothèses sur l'origine et l'évolution des branchies de deutérostome, des osselets Ambulacrares, et des tubes hémichordés (modifié de Gee 2013, Nature).

Biomécanique des fluides et évolution des plans du corps des animaux

Nous caractérisons l'interaction des plans de corps d'animaux avec l'environnement fluide en utilisant des méthodes expérimentales, informatiques et numériques. Ce travail est réalisé en collaboration avec le groupe de recherche en mécanique des fluides (École Polytechnique). Contrairement à la plupart des forces sélectives, les forces physiques de la mécanique des fluides peuvent être quantifiées avec précision, et appliquées aux espèces vivantes ou fossiles. Dans certains cas, changer cette pression entraîne des phénotypes radicalement divergents. En utilisant la transcriptomique, nous caractérisons les changements dans l'expression génique au cours de ce remodelage du patron de développement. En fin de compte, nous visons à coupler étroitement la force sélective de la mécanique des fluides avec le remodelage du développement pour faire la lumière sur l'évolution du plan du corps animal.

Découvrir la biodiversité d'Hémichordata

Le troisième grand axe de recherche de notre groupe est de découvrir et de décrire de nouvelles espèces de Hemichordata. Nous révisons la taxonomie du phylum et nous avons plus que doublé le nombre d'espèces décrites le long des côtes de l'Amérique du Nord. Les observations sur leur biogéographie suggèrent que les hémichordés sont un groupe ancien et en déclin, et que la perte d'espèces dans les eaux côtières s'est accélérée en raison des activités humaines. Des études parallèles de Nick Holland (Institut d'Océanographie Scripps), Karen Osborn (Institution Smithsonian) ont démontré que de nombreuses espèces doivent encore être découvertes dans le plus grand habitat de la terre, la mer profonde. Pour les informations plus à jour sur les espèces d'Hemichordata, voir nos Hemichordata Images, Checklist of Hemichordate Species, et Taxonomic Key to the Enteropneusta.

Notre recherche a été largement couverte dans la presse et des liens vers certains articles les plus récents se trouvent sur la page Publications. Si vous êtes intéressé à poursuivre des études supérieures ou un post-doc au laboratoire du professeur Cameron, ou si vous cherchez simplement des informations plus détaillées, s'il vous plaît écrivez nous.

Enseignement

Biologie 1953: Origine et diversité du vivant 

Biologie 2431: Zoologie des invertébrés

Biologie 3293: Évolution et développement

Biologie 2432: Stage invertébrés marins (Darling Marine Centre, Maine, 15-23 mai, 2019)

Biologie 6432: Stage en développement des invertébrés marins (Darling Marine Centre, Maine, 15-23 mai, 2019)

Biologie 6965 Biodiversité: importance, menaces, solutions

 

Université de Montréal Home Page
Département de sciences biologiques Home Page

All text and images accessible via the above links copyright © 2000 - 2017 by C. B. Cameron. All rights reserved.
(révisé mai 2018)

B.Sc. University of Victoria (1994)
Ph.D. University of Alberta (2000)
Post-doc. University of Texas at Austin

Français

Christopher B. Cameron

Associate professor, Département de sciences biologiques

Postal Address:

Courier Address
 

phone:
fax
:

e-mail:

Université de Montréal, Département de sciences biologiques, C.P. 6128, Succ. Centre-ville, Montréal, QC, Canada, H3C 3J7

Université de Montréal, Département de sciences biologiques, 1375 avenue Thérèse Lavoie-Roux
Montréal, QC, H2V 0B3

1 (514) 343-2198
1 (514) 343-2293
. . . . . twitter

|  People | Research | Research Opportunities | Publications |


"One thing to remember is to talk to the animals. If you do, they will talk back to you. But if you don't talk to the animals, they won't talk back to you, then you won't understand, and when you don't understand you will fear, and when you fear you will destroy the animals, and if you destroy the animals, you will destroy yourself."

Cree speaker (attributed to Chief Dan George)


Current Research
 

Research in the Cameron lab aims to understand the origin and evolution of animal body plan diversity. The oceans are home to the bulk of global animal diversity, and nowhere are body plans more divergent than among the invertebrate animals. This biodiversity is largely a result of the interplay between evolution, development and the fluid environment. For this reason, our research program uses a multidisciplinary approach including comparative morphology and development, phylogenetics, genomics, fluid mechanics and paleontology. We are broadly interested in the origins and evolution of animal biodiversity, and the deuterostomes, that evolutionary linage that includes hemichordates, echinoderms and our own phylum, the chordates, is where we make our greatest contributions.

The Origins of Extracellular Matrix Structures (EMS) in Deuterostomes

Presently we are evaluating three hypotheses on the origin of EMS in deuterostomes (Fig. 1). First, we are testing our hypothesis that chordate gills are a deuterostome plesiomorphic (ancestral) trait (Cameron et al. 2000), by characterizing acorn worm gill form, function and symmetry. Second, we are testing our hypothesis that the echinoderm skeleton is an ambulacrarian plesiomorphy (Cameron & Bishop 2012), by characterizing the calcium carbonate and protein composition of acorn worm ossicles, ossicle development and diversity. Third, based on our finding of Cambrian tubicolous acorn worms from the Burgess Shale (Caron, Conway Morris & Cameron 2013; Nanglu et al. 2016), we are testing the hypothesis that tubes are a hemichordate plesiomorphy. We are characterizing the composition of pterobranch tubes, the secretion of tubes by a living rhabdopleurid graptolite, and experimenting with the induced phenotypic plasticity of the colony structure (i.e., tubarium astogeny).

Fig. 1.
        Hypothesis on the origin and evolition of deuterostome gills,
        ambulacrarian ossicles, and hemichordate tubes (modified from
        Gee 2013, Nature)

Fig. 1. Hypotheses on the origin & evolution of deuterostome gills, ambulacrarian ossicles, and hemichordate tubes (modified from Gee 2013, Nature).

Fluid Biomechanics & Animal Body Plan Evolution

We are characterizing the interaction of animal body plans with the fluid environment using numerical, computational and experimental methods. Unlike most selective forces, the physical forces of fluid mechanics can be precisely quantified. In some cases, changing this pressure results in drastically divergent phenotypes. Two of the projects currently underway include i) understanding the fluid interactions with salmon, shark and whale lice, and ii) understanding the interaction of oil droplets with the feeding appendages of zooplankton to mitigate its uptake in aquatic and marine food webs. Another project aims to tightly couple the selective force of fluid mechanics with developmental repatterning to shed light on animal body plans evolution. This work is in collaboration with the fluid dynamic research group (École Polytechnique).

Discovering Hemichordate Biodiversity

The third major research axis of our group is to discover and describe new species of Hemichordata. We are revising the taxonomy of the phylum and we have more than tripled the number of described species along the coasts of North America. Observations on their biogeography suggest that the hemichordates are an ancient and declining group, and that species loss in coastal waters has accelerated due to human activities. Many species are yet to be discovered from the largest habitat on earth, the deep sea. For the most up-to-date information on Hemichordates species see our Hemichordata Images, Checklist of Hemichordate Species, and Taxonomic Key to the Enteropneusta.

Our research has been widely covered in the press and links to some of the most recent articles are on the Publications page. If you are interested in pursuing graduate studies or a post-doc in the Cameron lab, or just looking for more detailed information, please write.

Teaching

Biologie 1953: Origine et diversité du vivant 

Biologie 2431: Zoologie des invertébrés

Biologie 3293: Évolution et développement

Biologie 2432/ 6432: Stage invertébrés marins (Darling Marine Centre, Maine, mai, 2021)

Biologie 6965 Biodiversité: importance, menaces, solutions
 

Université de Montréal Home Page
Départment de Sciences Biologiques Home Page

All text and images accessible via the above links copyright © 2000 - 2019 by C. B. Cameron. All rights reserved.
(revised August 2019)